Buyer Community> Trade Intelligence> knowledge> Toys


Published: 23 Apr 2015 00:46:20 PST

Toy Safety Standards:

All toys intended for use by children under 14 years of age must comply with the US federal mandatory toy safety standard enacted by Congress in section 106 of the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act of 2008. This guideline refers to the ASTM F963-11 standard (including ASTM F963-07ε1), which covers toys and toy chests designed for use by children under 14 years of age.

Known as the Standard Consumer Safety Specification for Toy Safety, ASTM F963-11 addresses numerous hazards that have been identified with toys by covering safety requirements, safety labeling requirements, and product testing methods.

Meanwhile, all toys designed or intended primarily for children 12 years of age and younger must be third-party tested by a CPSC-accepted laboratory and issued with a Children’s Product Certificate. Please view the CPSC webpage relating to Children’s Product Certificates at           

ASTM F963-11 Requirements:
The ASTM F963-11 standard has sections covering both all toys and specific types of toys or toys with specific attributes. An overview of this information can be checked at:

Compliance Enforcement:

Children's toys manufactured after June 12, 2012, must comply with all mandatory sections of the updated ASTM F963-11 standard. Therefore, manufacturers or importers of toys must test children's toys for compliance with the toy safety standard, with the required testing conducted by a CPSC-accepted laboratory. If products are found to be non-compliant, they may be subject to recall or ban as per the Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act of 2008, with the importer or distributor possibly subject to fines or other penalties.

Further information:

Share this post:
Related Article
Most Popular